Skip to content

Cydia Error is Frustrating the Hell Out of Me!

21/06/2009

Cydia_iconIf you’ve got a more than average knowledge of Cydia, and you’re able to solve the odd issue, please, please read on. As some of you will know, yesterday for the first time I used the Dev-Team’s new PwnageTool for the Mac to jailbreak the 3.0 firmware on my iPhone 3G. Everything was as sweet as a nut, until yesterday evening, when I started installing a few apps.

Frstly, I installed Cycorder, which by the way works perfectly on the 3.0 firmware, and had no problems. Then I installed Winterboard and a couple add-ons: pre 2.1 3g & Edge logos, LiveClock (for some reason doesn’t work on 3.0), and a carrier logo. Again, still no issues up until now. I then attempted to install the “All Sources” package from the “Repositories” section. I had this on my 2.2.1 firmware and basically it just gives you a great deal more sources and therefore a much greater choice of apps.

Whilst installing the All Sources app, it seemed to just stop halfway through and started to “Reload Data” as if it was complete. I thought little of it until I tried to install another app. I now get this error every time (screenshot below):

/var/cache/apt/archives/ifoneguide.nl_0-9_iphoneos-arm.deb

trying to overwrite `/Applications/Cydia.app/Sources/cydia/ifoneguide.nl.png’, which is also in package Cydia.

Error in Cydia (right) and error in Icy (left).

Error in Cydia (left) and error in Icy (right).

I believe “ifoneguide.nl” must have been one of the sources included in the All Sources package I tried to install. It seems maybe there was an error installing that particular and that’s why this is happening. Now, every time I try to install another application, it tries to install “iFoneGuide” with it and I get the error all over again.

I’ve tried reinstalling the All Sources package, I’ve tried manually adding the ifoneguide.nl source, I’ve tried removing this source, plus many other things and nothing seems to be working. Interestingly, when I go in to Cydia –> Sections –> Repositories, the iFoneGuide source is highlighted in green. I’m not sure what this means, but I’ve never come across it before. As you can see from the screenshots above, it’s not as if I can just live with it and continue to use the Icy app, because I also get it there.

Anyway, my last resort, which turned out not to be a good one, was to go in to Icy, remove Cydia, and reinstall it again. Now whenever I try to load up the Cydia app, it just crashed back to the springboard.

It seems I’m going to have to restore my iPhone again with the custom firmware I’ve already built, however, for future referrence, I’d really like to know if there’s a way around this issue, or if anyone has come across it before. I did do a Google search, however there was very little information on it and certainly no fix I could find.

Please leave a comment if you have the answer!

33 Comments leave one →
  1. 21/06/2009 12:07 pm

    i got the same error when installing the all sources package on 3.0. everything is working ok? just ignore it and pretend it didn’t happen.

    • The Editor permalink
      21/06/2009 12:10 pm

      Thanks for your reply. So despite the error, your apps/packages from Cydia are still installing ok?

      Thanks again.

      • 21/06/2009 12:49 pm

        yeh everything is working ok. but whenever i go to install something ‘ifoneguide’ is listed as as an item to install.. and i get that same error..

        i think ifoneguide is stuck in limibo, always trying to install.. we need to find a way to clear the queue. any ideas? šŸ˜›

      • The Editor permalink*
        21/06/2009 12:59 pm

        Ah I see! No, unfortunately I have no idea how to fix this issue. However I’ve contact Jay Freeman (saurik) who is the creator of Cydia via his Twitter page, hopefully he’ll get back to me. I think I’ll also contact ifoneguide.nl — it seems it’s probably an issue at their end.

        Thanks.

  2. Peter permalink
    21/06/2009 1:01 pm

    I got the same error but then i uninstalled the ‘All Sources’ package and then it was ok, the only problem is I don’t get the ifoneguide source, but i don’t mind cos i atleast i don’t get the error šŸ™‚ .

    Try it it might work for you aswell (post if it does)

    -Pete

    • 21/06/2009 1:28 pm

      i uninstalled ‘all sources’ and the error is gone… good fix, but i kinda wanted all the sources haha. oh well hopefully it will be fixed soon and we can reinstall it

      • The Editor permalink*
        21/06/2009 1:30 pm

        Well according to the “All Sources” package within Cydia, you don’t actually lose your sources when you uninstall the “All Sources” package. Can anyone confirm this?

      • 21/06/2009 1:52 pm

        well arn’t i silly? looks like my sources are still there.. awesome! šŸ™‚

      • The Editor permalink*
        21/06/2009 1:53 pm

        Great! Good to hear. Thanks all.

  3. 21/06/2009 1:23 pm

    I’m having the same issue and have not yet had any luck finding a solution šŸ˜¦

    • The Editor permalink*
      21/06/2009 1:27 pm

      Has anyone tried Peter’s suggestion yet? I’m currently restoring my iPhone and therefore can’t test it out. Let us know.

      • 17/08/2010 5:17 am

        FWIW, if someone searches for a solution on google and finds this post, I wanted to chime in with my successful fix:

        I had the same problem, only with SNES emulator installed from Cydia. It kept staying in the queue and got the same error when trying to install something it would always try to install first and have overwrite problem. So I used iPhone Explorer (freeware to view iphone file system – mac or PC google it!)

        Then navigated to /var/cache/apt/archives/ and deleted a ~505k file that mentioned the SNES file I was having problems with. Then went into Cydia and did the usual remove and clean up through the official ways its done only this time without that error!

        Hope it helps someone.

  4. Peter permalink
    21/06/2009 2:48 pm

    Just to clarify, If you uninstall all sources: The error will go away, all the sources will remain and the ifoneguide source will stop trying to be installed (so the error stop) but you wont have the ifoneguide source (the rest will remain).

  5. Nesquix permalink
    21/06/2009 3:10 pm

    Exactly the same problem for me !!!
    Maybe if i go with SSH into my iphone and if i edit the sources with this cmd:

    apt-get install nano
    nano /etc/apt/sources.list.d/cydia.list
    (pass alpine)

    i can remove iphoneguide and try again… i

  6. just me permalink
    21/06/2009 4:51 pm

    I did it…i opened cydia nad download an application only to give me the error again about ifoneguide…i then ssh’ed and copied the ifoneguide.nl_0-9_iphoneos-arm.deb file from the folder /var/cache/apt/archives/ to /var/root. Then I closed cydia and went to /var/root and executed dpkg -i –force-ovewrite ifoneguide.nl_0-9_iphoneos-arm.deb

    Problem GONE! šŸ™‚

  7. Andre permalink
    21/06/2009 9:26 pm

    Yup, a simple uninstall of AllSources did the trick!

    Thanks for the info! Sorry you had to restore, Editor.

    • The Editor permalink*
      21/06/2009 9:29 pm

      Hi Andre. That’s no problem. I suppose I was a bit impatient and instead of waiting to see what everyone else had to say, just went ahead and though Cydia was ruined and that a reinstall might do the trick. If I hadn’t of done a reinstall of Cydia, I wouldn’t of had any problems. Anyway, never mind, it’s a lesson for the future! šŸ˜‰

      Thanks all.

  8. kenny permalink
    22/06/2009 1:22 am

    YES! uninstallation of “all sources” worked for me as well! haha sweet! thx for the input peeps =]

  9. 22/06/2009 4:54 am

    Thanks SOOOOO much for this fix. i couldnt install a few things with it and now they install fine. anyone else have a problem with wbapp not working?

  10. james smith permalink
    23/06/2009 12:44 pm

    how do u uninstall sources im having the same problem and cant figure it out

  11. lw2photography permalink
    23/06/2009 4:27 pm

    I love y’all! LOL. I’ve been having the same EXACT problem and deleted All Sources and now everything is working great! Much better and less of a headache now I dont have to see that error message all the time!

    I still can’t get five rows GUI to work though. It installs and just stacks all the icons up on the top right and I can’t move them. Anyone else have that problem?

    • nyk permalink
      11/07/2009 7:34 am

      if u have the five icon dock installed then unistall it theres a conflict with the two u can either have five icon/collums or five icon dock

  12. fabian permalink
    28/06/2009 4:26 am

    i get this error in cydia “sub-process/usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)…… And it icy i get this error….. “dpkg: status database area islocked by another process”……………so any one has an idea how to fix this?… if u know please tell me thatnks!!

  13. Nik permalink
    11/07/2009 7:03 am

    Lw2photography the five row/colum doesn’t work with the dock uninstall the five icon dock and it fixes this problem cydia hasn’t had a fix yet to have both installed u can either have the rows/collums or the dock

  14. Jr. permalink
    03/12/2009 11:47 pm

    If u have rock app installe already, u can modifer the broken app by either reinstalling it oe unintstalling it. the confirm correction with cydia. reinstall or uninstall through cydi if needed. your all welcome

  15. 23/12/2009 5:20 pm

    u need to uninstall manually from terminal

    dpkg -r “com.appname.appname”
    or if that fails

    dpkg –purge “com.appname.appname”

    “com.appname.appname” <—- name of the app u want to install replace this with ur own

  16. firat bayir permalink
    02/07/2010 8:17 pm

    you dont need to delete source lists…

    i found a way to overcome this problem.

    go folder /var/lib/dpkg

    edit the files ‘available’, ‘available-old’, ‘status’ and ‘status-old’

    delete the package sections that you have trouble with.

    thats it…

    • rarblam permalink
      23/07/2010 11:07 am

      @firat bayir

      tried that and it worked like a charm! thanks for the tip

    • pete permalink
      07/12/2010 11:37 am

      This worked!!!! Ive been looking everywhere for a fix!!

  17. Chris permalink
    20/08/2010 6:45 am

    I had this problem also and none of the above solutions were working. What I did was open Rock and allow it to fix the problem apps under the manage tab. For me the problem app was dTunes, so I uninstalled it and now everything is fine!

    Really starting to like Rock much more than Cydia…

  18. RuggishBone permalink
    24/08/2010 5:55 am

    i had the same problem i just downloaded rock its way better than cytia

  19. chris permalink
    28/08/2010 11:26 am

    the Rock App option worked for me. I had a problem with Pogoplank coming before every other theme or app I wanted to install in cydia. I always use Cydia, and Rock App sometimes coz it loads faster. I opened Rock App and it popped up a message saying it noticed a problem with a pogoplank theme and suggested i unistall it. I did that, went back to Cydia and VIOLA!

Trackbacks

  1. Did anyone D/L all Sources and then get this error? - AVForums.com

Leave a comment