Skip to content

3.0 Jailbreak Released

20/06/2009

pwnagetool-pwned

Having had the 3.0 software on my iPhone 3G for well over a week, I’ve been dying to jailbreak it. I came from 2.2.1 jailbroken software, and before I upgraded to 3.0, I thought long and hard about whether I could live without the jailbreak until it was released. Shortly after deciding I could and upgrading, I started to miss it.

I missed my own themes, fonts, changing my carrier name, playing SNES games to pass the time, etc, etc.

Well now I can do it all again! The Dev-Team have now released PwnageTool for the 3.0 firmware. It’s currently only available on Mac, and there isn’t yet a QuickPwn tool, however this and Windows apps have been promised for the future. PwnageTool will work with iPhone 2G, 3G and the first-gen iPod Touch, however is not yet compatible with the new iPhone 3G S.

The Dev-Team state on their website that if you rely on their “yellowsn0w” unlock to obtain cellular service, you should not upgrade your iPhone firmware just yet. The “yellowsn0w” unlock will not work on the new baseband. For this, you will need “UltraSn0w” — the Dev-Team’s latest unlock software, that will be available through Cydia and Icy in the future.

I’m going to download the new PwnageTool software now and I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

